Rowing teams representing the cities bordering the Grand Harbour such as Valletta, Vittoriosa, Senglea, Kalkara, Cospicua, Marsaxlokk and Marsa, participate in a number of very exciting races, marked by extreme rivalry between participating teams and their respective supporters.
The 1st week of Septembre is the opportunity to see the different competitors in last trainings before the Regatta day!

The Regatta is a Traditional Rowing Event that has been held in Malta since the middle ages. It held twice yearly on the 31st of March (Freedom Day) and the 8th of September (known as Victory Day). The best crews forming part of the rowing teams from the cities bordering the Grand Harbour participate in 10 1,040 meter-races in the Valletta Grand Harbour under two different categories using typical traditional Maltese boats like the ‘frejgatini’, ‘kajjikki’ and ‘dghajjes tal-pass and tal-midalji’. The first three placings in each race are awarded a number of points and at the end of the Regatta, the club with the highest number of points, in the respective categories, is presented with the Aggregrate Shield. The clubs can be recognised by their traditional colours which include Birzebbuga (Red-White-Blue), Cospicua (Light Blue), Kalkara (Green), Marsa (Red-Blue), Marsamxett (Valletta) (Yellow), Senglea (Red-Yellow), and Vittoriosa (Red). The races can be viewed from the water edge of the three cities (Birgu, Cospicua, and Senglea) or Valletta.